Sunday, October 05, 2008

Film Society Of The Year Awards 2008

The well attended BFFS Film Society of the Year Awards ceremony took place on Saturday 27th September amid the splendour of Cutlers Hall in Sheffield.

President, Derek Malcolm, and special guest Jan Dunn - director of Gypo and Ruby Blue - gave witty speeches extolling the virtues of the BFFS and British cinema respectively, setting an excellent tone for the proceedings.

Under the auspices of new Chair Julieanne Crothers-Gibson, Keswick Film Club scooped Commendations for Best Film Programming and Best Marketing & Publicity, a distinction for Programme Notes and the top prize for Best Website.

The Club was pipped for The Engholm Prize for Film Society of the Year by Louth Film Club.